Our Fund to Host Second Annual South Florida LGBT Philanthropy Awards

Pictured above: The Mary N. Porter Riverview Ballroom ath the Broward Center for Performing Arts. Photo via the Broward Center.

The LGBT community needs philanthropists to back, boost, and bolster causes that help and protect its members.

Our Fund Foundation is honoring local individuals and families who impact South Florida’s LGBT community. The second annual LGBT Philanthropy Awards will be held on Saturday, Jan. 25 at 5:30 p.m. It takes place at the Broward Performing Arts Center’s Mary Porter Ballroom. 

Our Fund is South Florida’s only LGBT community foundation. It promotes a culture of philanthropy by uniting donors with organizations advancing LGBT issues in Broward, Miami-Dade and Palm Beach counties and supporting causes within the LGBT community.

“The Philanthropy Awards, which recognize and celebrate South Florida’s leading philanthropists and volunteers, has become our signature event,” said David Jobin, president and CEO, Our Fund Foundation, in a press release. “We are extremely grateful for the continued support from Bank of America Private Bank which enables us to honor these remarkable and generous community leaders who help make South Florida the most livable and energetic community in the country for LGBT people.”

This year’s honorees include:


  • Raising the Bar Award:Wayne Schrebe
    Honored as the Philanthropist of the Year, Schrebe’s thoughtful and generous gifts have benefitted numerous LGBT agencies in South Florida and improved countless lives. A leadership gift from the Wayne A. Schrebe and Roy J. Stegman Fund at Our Fund launched Our Funds Protect Our Elders Fundin 2015. In addition, Schrebe has contributed significant gifts to Our Fund’s capital campaigns in 2014 and 2019.
  • Commitment to a Cause Award:Mark Gilbert
    Nominated by OUTShine Film Festival, Gilbert’s dedication to the film festival in terms of time, talent and treasure is unmatched, as is his boundless energy, determination and infectious spirit of volunteerism. Engaged with the festival in various capacities for much of its history, Gilbert’s single-minded focus and dedication to its mission have invigorated the board of directors, helped resolve financial issues and stabilized its leadership.
  • Next Generation of Philanthropy AwardVictor Warren
    Nominated by SunServe, one of South Florida’s largest LGBT-serving agencies, Warren joined the non-profit’s board of directors in 2010 and began serving as Chair in January 2018. Under his guidance, SunServe experienced 26 consecutive quarters of growth and expanded its programming to serve the diversity of the LGBT community. His leadership within South Florida’s LGBT community and his visibility and impact serve as a reminder of the promise of young activists, leaders and philanthropists.
  • Dick Schwarz Award for Lifetime Achievement: Paul Fasana
    Fasana and his late partner Robert Graham’s philanthropy was instrumental in building much of the infrastructure of LGBT-life in South Florida. Their names are synonymous with the Sunshine Cathedral and the capital investments they made, including the Robert S. Graham and Paul Fasana Chapel. Fasana’s longtime passion, however, is for Stonewall National Museum & Archives’ vast collection of LGBT artifacts, for which he serves as chief archivist, a role he has played since 1995 as a volunteer. In addition to his volunteering, Fasana has endowed a fund in perpetuity for Stonewall at Our Fund and supports many local LGBT causes and agencies through his generosity.

Tickets to the cocktail reception and awards ceremony are $75 each and may be purchased at our-fund.org/awards. For additional information please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call 954-565-1090.