BidVertiser ClickADu HilltopAds

There will be no new faces on the Oakland Park dais, as voters chose two former commissioners to lead the city.

Tim Lonergan and Steven R. Arnst, who were the top two choices from a field of six candidates, won the two open at-large commission seats. They won 25.99% and 23.88% of the vote, respectively, according to unofficial results from the Broward Supervisor of Elections.

Oakland Park’s commissioners serve at-large seats and rotate mayor and vice mayor each year. Vice Mayor Aisha Gordon will be stepping up to the plate as mayor, with Commissioner Mitch Rosenwald moving up to vice mayor.

Lonergan, who served on the commission from 2013 to 2020, took the spot of mayor in 2016 and 2018. Having served two terms, he was forced to take a two-year hiatus before being allowed to run again. Lonergan, who is gay, helped make positive changes in the city for the LGBT community. This included making conversion therapy illegal in Oakland Park, adding gender reassignment surgery coverage and domestic partnership benefits for employees, and requiring contractors and vendors to provide domestic partnership benefits to employees.

Arnst took a long break from the commission after reaching term limits for a second time. He was on the Oakland Park commission from 1993 to 2001 and then again from 2003 to 2011. During that time, he also held vice mayor and mayor seats. He told the Sun Sentinel this summer that City Hall is “burning through money like there’s no tomorrow. I want to get a hold on the taxes.”