In a year where the word “gay” is being contested, LGBT politicians fought back in Florida’s primary elections.

Senator Shevrin Jones led the way, winning re-election with 68% of the vote. Jones, whose district was redrawn entirely in Miami-Dade County, earned 37,620 votes to easily win the three-way universal primary in District 34. 

Meanwhile, Representative Michele Rayner emerged victorious in House District 62, winning with 53%. Rayner got 9,526 votes to take the Democratic nomination in a district that covers parts of Pinellas and Hillsborough Counties.

In House District 119, Gabriel Gonzalez, a Gen Z progressive, won the Democratic primary with 3,093 votes (56%). In House District 120, Adam Gentle won the Dems’ nomination with 5,390 votes (56%) in a district that covers parts of Miami-Dade and Monroe Counties, including Key West. 

Two Broward districts didn’t pan out for the out candidate. In House District 99, Elijah Manley lost a rematch with sitting Representative Darryl Campbell for the seat that represents Wilton Manors. Campbell took the head-to-head matchup with 17,230 votes (70%) to Manley’s 7,104 (29%).

In House District 101, Todd Delmay came up short in his first attempt at public office. Delmay, endorsed by SAVE, finished second behind Hillary Cassel, receiving 3,763 votes (34%) compared to 4,419 (40%) for Cassel. Clay Miller came in third with 2,801 (25%). 

Elsewhere, Janelle Perez and Carlos G. Smith advanced to the general election without primary opposition. Perez is seeking the Miami area Senate 38 seat and Smith is battling for the newly drawn House District 37 in central Florida.