SFGN Editor takes home Second Place for Journalist of the Year

Executive Editor of SFGN, Jason Parsley, won second place for Journalist of the Year in the National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association’s annual awards contest.

Some of his work included an in-depth piece on the crystal meth epidemic in the gay male community and his work on PrEP to prevent HIV and the AIDS Healthcare Foundation’s campaign against it.

Taking home first place for Journalist of the Year was J. Lester Feder from BuzzFeed News.

One of the SFGN’s regular columnists Faith Cheltenham, who writes the By the Bi column, won second place for Excellence in Blogging.

SFGN congratulates both of them.

Here is a full list of this year’s winners:

Sarah Pettit Memorial Award for Excellence in LGBT Media

First Place: Trish Bendix, AfterEllen

Second Place: Lucas Grindley, Here Media

The Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism

Steven Thrasher for “How College Wrestling Star “Tiger Mandingo” Became An HIV Scapegoat,” BuzzFeed.com

Excellence in Blogging Award

First Place: Rob Smith for
“They Fought The Gays and The Gays Won: How The “Duck Dynasty” Stars’ Homophobia Destroyed Their Brand,” Queerty.com

Second Place: Faith Cheltenham for
“Bisexuals at the Gates,” Bilerico.com

Excellence in HIV/AIDS Coverage Award

First Place: Benjamin Ryan for
“PrEP and Prejudice,” with Oriol Gutierrez, POZ Magazine

Second Place: Doug Moore for
“2,000 St. Louisans are HIV Positive but Aren’t Taking Their Medications,”St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Excellence in Multimedia Award

First Place: Mark Joseph Stern for
“Get Déjà Vu Listening to Opponents of Interracial Marriage Argue at the Supreme Court,” Slate.com

Second Place: Daniel Reynolds for
“Day in LGBT America,” The Advocate,
with Christopher Harrity, Yannick Delva, Michelle Garcia and Lucas Grindley

Third Place: J. Bryan Lowder for
“Ask A Homo: Gay Bar Etiquette,” Slate.com,
with June Thomas

Excellence in News Writing Award

First Place: Andrew M. Seaman for
Series on LGBT Health Coverage, Reuters

Second Place: Berlin Sylvestre for
“Pro-LGBT Colorado Baker Slapped with Religious Discrimination Complaint,” Out Front Magazine

Third Place: Andy Birkey for
“Evangelical Group Targets Twin Cities LGBT Community With ‘Ex-gay’ Message,” The Column

Excellence in Television Award

First Place: Sari Aviv for “Born This Way?,” CBS News Sunday Morning, with Rita Braver, Chad Cardin, Rand Morrison

Excellence in Online Journalism Award

First Place: Stephen Jiwanmall for
“Remembering Riley,” Bucks County Courier Times

Second Place: Dave Singleton for
“Finding Pride and Home: A Look at Housing for Older LGBT Adults,” Caring.com

Third Place: Sunnivie Brydum for
“40 Under 40: Emerging Voices,” The Advocate with Michelle Garcia, Lucas Grindley, Daniel Reynolds, Neal Broverman, Trudy Ring, Jase Peeples, Diane Anderson-Minshall, Parker Marie Molloy, Tracy E. Gilchrist, Annie Hollenbeck and Thom Senzee

Excellence in Opinion/Editorial Writing Award

First Place: Mark Segal for
Mark My Words Column, Philadelphia Gay News

Second Place: Richard Kim for
Against the Current Column, The Nation

Third Place: Richard J. Rosendall for
Cutting Holes in the Law, Washington Blade

Excellence in Photojournalism Award

First Place: T.J. Thomson for
“More than a Formality,” Columbia Missourian

Second Place: Scott A. Drake for
“Pride in Philly,” Philadelphia Gay News

Excellence in Radio Award

First Place: Tina Antolini for
“Trans Families,” State of the Re:Union/WJCT with Al Letson

Second Place: Jason DeRose for
“Religious Support for LGBT Ugandans,” KALW Public Radio with Julie Caine

Excellence in Student Journalism Award

Jessi Hotakainen for “Trans Mississippi,” medium.com

Visit NLGJA.org/2015 for more information.