BidVertiser ClickADu HilltopAds

Norm Kent has spent his life advancing LGBT causes. Through the courts as an attorney and his presence in the community and media, he has argued, agitated, irritated, cajoled and convinced people to do the right thing and support equality.

Now he is being recognized for his work.

Safe Schools South Florida is honoring him with their Lifetime Achievement Award.

“We chose Norm Kent as our Lifetime Achievement honoree for obvious reasons,” Safe Schools founder Scott Galvin said. “He has spent decades advocating for the LGBTQ community. At many times, his work was not popular and was sometimes dangerous. Norm has built a media empire by being courageous and daring. Our youth must know of his achievements.”

The honor will be given at Safe Schools’ annual Kaleidoscope gala on Nov. 5 at the ArtServe Building at 1350 E. Sunrise Blvd. in Fort Lauderdale. The event will be hosted by Crystal Ross Lepaige, and feature the South Florida LGBTQ Jazz Ensemble.

Safe Schools fights to protect the rights of LGBT youth, teachers, and staff. The Kaleidoscope gala raises money for them to keep up the fight here and in Tallahassee.

“Over the coming months, schools will continue to impede our LGBTQ students and clubs. Not every school has reacted the same thus far. Some are more draconian than others. The next legislative cycle will undoubtedly bring more changes to laws, but our opponents aren't waiting for legislative sessions. Whether it be the Florida Board of Health or the Florida Board of Education, laws will continue to be altered as quickly as rain falls on a tin roof.

“Kaleidoscope is our annual gala and features delicious food and fun entertainment. It's the first year we've held it since COVID so this year will be extra special. The South Florida LGBTQ Jazz Ensemble will provide music and our hostess will be Crystal Ross Lepaige.”

Safe Schools will also honor State Senator Shevrin and H. Richard Quadracci. Jones, the first and only gay State Senator in Florida, will receive the Government Excellence award, while Quadracci is getting the Businessperson of the Year award.