SFGN Receives Media Star of the Year Recognition

Last week, The Pride Center announced their 2011 Stars of the Rainbow honorees, which will be showcased during next year’s annual Stars of the Rainbow fundraising event. Among the honorees include Pastor Leslie Tipton, Nikki Adams and Will Spencer. The gala will be held on Sunday, April 3, 2011 at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six from 4:00 – 6:00 p.m.


2011 Stars of the Rainbow Honorees represent individuals, businesses and organizations that exemplify the spirit of volunteerism and/or activism. Honorees have represented the LGBT community in a positive light, and have supported the efforts of the Pride Center. This year’s honorees are:

Board Member Star of the Year

Pastor Leslie Tipton

Community Stars of the Year

Nikki Adams, Broward House

Donna Markland, Broward County Health Department

Non-Profit Star of the Year

Trevor Project

Media Star of the Year

South Florida Gay News – Norm Kent, Publisher

Public Official Stars of the Year

Congresswoman Ileana Ross-Lehtinen

Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz

Tyler Healis Sustainability Award

Arthur Smith

Volunteer Star of the Year

PALS Project Volunteers

Alan Schubert Humanitarian Award

Will Spencer

Additional information about the Pride Center can be obtained by visiting PrideCenterFlorida.org.