BidVertiser ClickADu HilltopAds

While the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences remains mired amid charges of institutional racial bias in the Oscar nomination process, the Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association (GALECA) rewarded a more diverse representation from the film and television industries with its Dorian Awards, announced last week.

Todd Haynes’ Lesbian-themed period drama, “Carol”—snubbed by the Academy in the best motion picture and director categories—walked away with five awards, including film of the year and LGBTQ film of the year. Haynes was named best director and Cate Blanchett the best film actress of the year.

In unique Dorian Award categories, “Magic Mike XXL” was deemed the campiest flick, while Sean S. Baker’s “Tangerine,” a story of African-American transgender sex workers shot entirely on iPhones, won unsung film of the year.

“Fargo” and “Orange is the New Black” tied for the best television drama and “Transparent” was the best television comedy. “Transparent” was also best LGBT show and star Jeffrey Tambor accepted the award for outstanding performance by an actor. “Empire” was the campy show of the year and “Looking” the unsung television show. Gay icon Aretha Franklin won best musical performance for her appearance on the Kennedy Center Honors broadcast last month.

Alicia Vikander, who co-starred with Eddie Redmayne in “The Danish Girl,” was recipient of the “We’re Wilde About You” Rising Star Award, one of several named for the organization’s “patron saint,” Oscar Wilde.

More than 130 LGBT entertainment critics, including SFGN Arts & Entertainment Editor J.W. Arnold, participated in the selection process. For more information, go to

2016 GALECA Dorian Award winners:

Film of the Year


Director of the Year

Todd Haynes, “Carol”

Film Actor of the Year

Leonardo Dicaprio, “The Revenant”

Film Actress of the Year

Cate Blanchett, “Carol”

LGBTQ Film of the Year


Foreign Language Film of the Year

“Son of Saul”

Screenplay of the Year


Documentary of the Year


Visually Striking Film of the Year

“Mad Max: Fury Road”

Unsung Film of the Year


Campy Flick of the Year

“Magic Mike XXL”

TV Drama of the Year

(TIE) “Fargo” & “Orange is the New Black”

TV Comedy of the Year


TV Actor of the Year

Jeffrey Tambor, “Transparent”

TV Actress of the Year

Taraji P. Henson, “Empire”

LGBTQ Show of the Year


Unsung TV Show of the Year


TV Current Affairs Show of the Year

“Last Week Tonight With John Oliver”

Campy TV Show of the Year


TV Musical Performance of the Year

Aretha Franklin

The ‘We’re Wilde About You’ Rising Star Award

Alicia Vikander

Wilde Wit of the Year

Amy Schumer

Wilde Artist of the Year

Todd Haynes

Timeless Award

Jane Fonda (previously announced)