Diversity Honors Announces Honorees

User Rating: 5 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active

This year’s third annual Diversity Honors just released their list of honorees.

The 2017 honorees include entertainer Tiffany Arieagus, Compass CEO Tony Plakas, community leader Ilene Berliner and more. The event will take place May 6 at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, and will kick off Harvey Milk Day.

"The Harvey Milk Foundation is excited to begin 2017 Harvey Milk Day events, which marks the 40th anniversary of Uncle Harvey's historic election to public office, by co-hosting this important gala where we come together to honor men and women who remind us all that diversity is a strength, and diversity is a value that defines us not only as the South Florida community, but as a nation," said Co-Founder of the Harvey Milk Foundation Stuart Milk.

Stuart Milk is the nephew of the late Harvey Milk, LGBT rights activist and one of the first openly gay official elected to San Francisco public office.

The gala will benefit the Harvey Milk Foundation and The Pride Center at Equality Park. It will feature a cocktail reception, a three-course dinner, a silent auction and an awards presentation by WSVN Evening News Anchor, Craig Stevens. String quartet Well-Strung will headline.

“As co-hosts of this landmark event and local equality advocates, we are truly thankful for the support and efforts of our honorees who tirelessly raise awareness and hope for the LGBT community,” The Pride Center at Equality Park CEO Robert Boo said. “Every step toward making our world a more accepting and inclusive personal and professional environment is applauded. This is why we are unified in celebrating these incredible achievements and we invite the South Florida community to join us.”

The honorees for the Harvey Milk Foundation Awards are set to be announced “shortly.”

Tickets for the event are $200. For more information, visit DiversityHonors.com.

Like us on Facebook

  • Latest Comments